United Empire Loyalist Heritage Centre & Park
Lots to explore and see!
The UEL Heritage Centre and Park is a mixture of history, camping, and family fun, all in one location. Visit the site where the very first United Empire Loyalists arrived in Ontario on June 16, 1784. Camp at the very place where this piece of Ontario history began. The heritage centre, located on the beautiful Adolphus Reach on the Bay of Quinte, also informs on the ancient Cayuga presence in this region.
The United Empire Loyalist Heritage Centre & Park is a non-profit preservation project owned and operated by the Bay of Quinte Branch, United Empire Loyalists’ Association of Canada and serves as a dynamic memorial to those families that were witness to the founding of Upper Canada.
The Heritage Centre embodies the objectives of the Bay of Quinte Branch by preserving and developing the original Adolphustown landing site, burial ground, and town plan for the interpretation and continuation of the historic settlement area vision, linking research, education and social engagement.
- Visit the museum
- Come to camp
- Day-use available swimming (unsupervised)
- Children’s play structures
- Children’s activities organized by the museum during July & August
Visit the original Adolphustown landing site, burial ground, and UEL research centre
Go camping in a historic setting
The United Empire Loyalist Heritage Centre and Park offers a 72-acre campground and day-use facility to our visitors, located on the scenic shores of the Bay of Quinte. There are sandy beach areas for swimming with plenty of shade, close to the water. There are children’s play structures located in both the day-use area, and the east end campground. The east end campground has horseshoe pits.
- The first loyalists settled on the grounds in tents
- Families have been camping here since 1784
- The museum on the site is dedicated to the Loyalists and early Ontario history
Stay in the know! Sign up for our newsletter.