Explore

The Allan Macpherson House & Park

History buffs get ready

A wonderful place for anyone interested in history, architecture and gardens

Half-cousin to Sir John A. Macdonald, Allan Macpherson was one of Lennox and Addington’s most civic-minded and politically active entrepreneurs. He created fine-quality flour shipped to Montreal and England and became Postmaster at Napanee in 1820. Tour his gentry-inspired home, built north of the Napanee Falls. In 1962 the L&A Historical Society began a visionary labour of love to restore this home to its 19th century character. 

  • Summers are busy with lots of events and activities to check out.
  • Guided tours are available every Wednesday in July and August for a small fee.

Due to COVID-19, the Macpherson House is closed for the season

Restored to its original splendour

The Macpherson’s house remained in the family until 1896. In 1962, the Lennox and Addington Historical Society began a visionary labour of love to restore this home to its 19th century character.

The Macpherson House now functions as additional gallery space for the Lennox & Addington Museum & Archives.

Fun Facts

  • Holiday themed programming is fun for the whole family

  • The house also functions as additional gallery space for the Lennox & Addington Museum & Archives

Location and more details:

180 Elizabeth Street, Napanee

Tel: 613-354-3027

Closed for the season
Admission: $3/Adults, $2.50/Students & Seniors

Stay in the know! Sign up for our newsletter.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Scroll to Top