Explore

Events at L&A Dark Sky Viewing Area

Events for stargazers

The L&A Dark Sky Viewing Area is a great place to see the stars anytime… but if you want to learn a little more about the night sky, we host events from April to October.

L&A County Dark Sky Viewing Area is a great place to stargaze, take night sky photography or make deep sky observations with your telescope! 

Whether you visit during a scheduled event or on general stargazing evenings, we know you’ll love your experience.

Take a look below for some key dates built around the prime stargazing schedule.

Extend your stay

Extend your stargazing adventure in Lennox & Addington. The Comfort in & Suites in Napanee is offering a 20% discount on regular room rates between April 1st & October 31st. Subject to availability.

Our popular Laser-Guided Stargazing Tour events take place on Friday & Saturday nights near a new moon. Each start about an hour after dusk and last approximately 60 minutes. Weather permitting, you’ll get a laser-guided tour of the night sky. After the laser tour, you can line up to take a look through our 16″ Dobsonian Telescope.

These free events are a great way for novice stargazers to get acquainted with the night sky.

Dates & times subject to change. Events are weather-dependent.

  • Friday, April 5, 2024 @9pm [reserve]
  • Saturday, April 6, 2024 @9pm [reserve]
  • BONUS – Sunday, April 7, 2024 @9pm [reserve]
  • Friday, May 10, 2024 @9:30pm [reserve]
  • Saturday, May 11, 2024 @9:30pm [reserve]
  • Friday, June 7, 2024 @10pm [reserve]
  • Saturday, June 8, 2024 @10pm [reserve]
  • Friday, June 28, 2024 @10pm [reserve]
  • Saturday, June 29, 2024 @10pm [reserve]
  • Friday, August 9, 2024 @9pm [reserve]
  • Saturday, August 10, 2024 @9pm [reserve]
  • Friday, September 6, 2024  @8:30pm [reserve]
  • Saturday, September 7, 2024  @8:30pm [reserve]
  • Friday, October 4, 2024 @8pm [reserve]
  • Saturday, October 5, 2024 @8pm [reserve]

Please register using by clicking ‘reserve’. All events are free to attend.

You can see the moon from everywhere, but have you ever looked at it up close? Join us at the Dark Sky Viewing Area!

Our knowledgeable volunteers will teach you a bit about the moon, and you can take an up close look at the surface by looking through our 16″ Dobsonian telescope.

  • Saturday, June 15, 2024 @10pm [reserve]
  • Saturday, July 27, 2024 @9:30pm [reserve]
  • Saturday, August 24 @9pm [reserve]
  • Saturday, September 14 @8:30pm [reserve]

Please register using by clicking ‘reserve’. All events are free to attend.

Our monthly Astrophotographers Assemble events are geared toward night sky photographers (but anyone can attend). It’s an informal evening where shutterbugs – from novice to expert and everyone in between – are encouraged to come out and photograph the stars overhead. Events begin about an hour after dusk and last all night (if you can stay awake that long).

Dates and times are subject to change. Events are weather-dependent.

  • Saturday, April 13, 2024
  • Saturday, May 4, 2024
  • Saturday, June 1, 2024
  • Saturday, July 6, 2024
  • Saturday, August 3, 2024
  • Saturday, August 31, 2024
  • Saturday, September 28, 2024

Pre-registration NOT required.

This meteor shower is the northern hemisphere’s finest annual display of ‘shooting stars’. In 2024 it is visible from July 17th to August 24th , with the shower’s peak is during the overnight hours of August 12th/13th. If you watch the night sky for at least 15 minutes during its peak, you are guaranteed to see at least one meteor—likely more. The longer you watch, the more meteors will flash through the sky.

  • Visible: July 17 – August 24, 2024
  • Peak: Overnight hours of August 12/13, 2024

Pre-registration NOT required.

  • Quadrantids | Peak: January 2024
  • Alpha Centaurids | Peak: February 9, 2024
  • Gamma Normids | Peak: March 14, 2024
  • Lyrids | Peak: April 22, 2024
  • ETA Aquariids | Peak: May 5, 2024
  • June Bootids | Peak: June 27, 2024
  • Southern Delta Aquariids | July 31, 2024
  • September Epsilon Perseids | September 9, 2024
  • Orinids | Peak: October 21, 2024
  • Leonids | Peak: November 18, 2024
  • Geminids | Peak: December 13, 2024

Pre-registration NOT required.

You can visit Dark Sky any night of the year to view the stars, as long as there is no cloud-cover. Here are the prime nights between the first and third quarter moon phases, when the sky is mainly unobstructed by the moon’s glow, making for amazing conditions for general stargazing and astrophotography.

The closer it is to the new moon, the better the view will be. Before you visit, please check the astronomer’s forecast websites to ensure the sky is mainly free of clouds.

If you can’t make it during these dates, don’t worry. The view of the night sky is still good and you’ll still be able to see many, many stars.

The best time to view the night sky, weather permitting, is 7 days before and 7 days after a new moon.

  • New Moon: Thursday, January 11, 2024
  • New Moon: Friday, February 9, 2024
  • New Moon: Sunday, March 10, 2024
  • New Moon: Monday, April 8, 2024
  • New Moon: Thursday, June 6, 2024
  • New Moon: Friday, July 5, 2024
  • New Moon: Sunday, August 4, 2024
  • New Moon: Monday, September 2, 2024
  • New Moon: Wednesday, October 2, 2024
  • New Moon: Friday, November 1, 2024
  • New Moon: Sunday, December 1, 2024

No reservations required (unless there is an event listed above).

Stay up-to-date by visiting the
L&A Dark Sky Viewing Area social channels

Ask Us a Stargazing Question

It’s absolutely amazing!!! I was there yesterday and I swear my heart almost stopped beating from how magnificent and phenomenal the view is!!
- Bonbon MK

Sneak Peak of L&A Dark Sky Viewing Area

Group 541

Learn About

  • Get tips to optimize your viewing and learn how the L&A Dark Sky Viewing Area came to be.

Getting Here

  • Everything you need to know before you go! Make the most of your experience and prepare to be wowed.
Stay in the know! Sign up for our newsletter.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Scroll to Top